Join the celebrations throughout the conference.

Sign up for Ticketed Events when you register for the conference - or add the event(s) later.

Michael L. Printz Program

The Michael L. Printz Award, given by the Young Adult Library Services Association each year to the best book written for young adults takes place at ALA Annual. Come to hear the award winner, and honor book authors who will speak about their writing. After the winner’s speech, they will participate in a panel discussion with the honor authors. This award is administered in partnership with Booklist magazine.

Margaret A. Edwards Brunch

Join us for brunch and hear the winner of the 2018 Margaret A. Edwards Award discuss their writing. The award will honor their significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens. The annual award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine.

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction Ceremony and Reception

In its seventh year, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction are celebrated at ALA’s Annual Conference. Hand-picked by our expert selection committee of librarians, independent booksellers and editors that work closely with adult readers, these books have made a lasting impression. Join us for this celebratory event with featured speaker Sue Halpern, popular writer of books and articles, and a chance to mingle with the winning fiction author, Jennifer Egan during the dessert and cash bar reception. These awards are co-sponsored by Booklist and RUSA and supported by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York. This year’s event is sponsored by NoveList.

2018 ALSC Awards Presentation

Celebrate the best in children's literature at the annual presentation of the Batchelder, Geisel, and Sibert awards! Join us at 8:00am for a continental breakfast and a chance to mingle with your favorite authors and illustrators. The awards presentation will promptly start at 8:30am and is open to all registered attendees.

Coretta Scott King Book Awards Breakfast

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards Breakfast celebrates the winner and honor recipients during ALA's Annual Conference. Join some of the leading authors and illustrators of quality children's books depicting the African-American Experience.

2018 Newbery-Caldecott-Wilder Banquet

Join us for this gala occasion celebrating Newbery, Caldecott and Wilder medalists and honorees, authors and illustrators of the year's most distinguished books for children! Cocktails (cash bar) available prior to dinner; Doors open at 6:30 p.m. Tickets will be sold at the door and a limited number of tickets will be available at onsite registration until noon Friday. Pre-registration is required. $94 - individual tickets (non-assigned seating). Reserved table seating (ten seats) available. Table reservations must be made directly with the ALSC office. For more information about individual ticket sales, banquet table sales, and additional banquet FAQs, please visit:

Annual Stonewall Awards Ceremony

The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's, Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience. Come and hear from this year's winners. High attendance event, so please come early!

2018 Odyssey Award Ceremony

Celebrate the best in audiobooks produced for children and young adults at the annual presentation of the Odyssey Award. Listen to your favorite narrators perform a piece from their Odyssey Award-winning audiobooks at this engaging event. Please stay afterward for a reception sponsored by the Audio Publisher Association.

2018 Pura Belpré Award Celebración

Join ALSC and REFORMA in celebrating the 2018 Pura Belpré Medal winners and honorees as they receive their awards and deliver their acceptance speeches. The Celebración is a free, joyful event featuring acceptance speeches by winners and honorees, musical performances and a book signing.

PR Xchange Awards

This is a national competition for the best library promotional materials in print and electronic formats from the past year. Solicitation of submissions and judging takes place throughout the year. Entries are appraised by a jury of marketing professionals on the quality of content, format, design, creativity, and originality. This year 14 judges evaluated 266 print and 145 electronic submissions. Winning projects are displayed at the PR Xchange Event, and certificates are distributed at the Awards Ceremony.

John Cotton Dana Awards & Reception

Considered among the most prestigious awards by the American Library Association, the John Cotton Dana Award, provided in conjunction with the H.W. Wilson Foundation, the American Library Association and EBSCO, honors outstanding library public relations, whether a summer reading program, a year-long centennial celebration, fundraising for a new college library, an awareness campaign or an innovative partnership in the community.

In recognition of their achievement, John Cotton Dana award winners receive a cash award from the H.W. Wilson Foundation.

ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards

This biennial competition is co-sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA) and the International Interior Design Association (IIDA).  The awards honor international excellence in library interior design. Award winners demonstrate excellence in aesthetics, design, creativity, function, and satisfaction of the client’s objectives. The competition is managed by the LLAMA Buildings and Equipment Community of Practice Interior Design Awards Committee.

LLAMA ALA/AIA Library Building Awards

The ALA/AIA Library Building Awards are co-sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA) and the American Institute of Architects (AIA). The annual competition recognizes excellence in the architectural design and planning of libraries.  Awards are for distinguished accomplishment in library architecture by an architect licensed in the United States for a library in the United States or abroad.  The program is managed by the LLAMA Buildings and Equipment Community of Practice Library Buildings Awards Committee.